Please take a look at our reviews. They are exceptional. The reviews that have been left have unedited content and are verifiable. This review section of our website contains an aggregated view of reviews from many sources. For this reason I have added, to the title only, the name of the home that the review was referring to, if it was not clear from the content of the review.

 
 
  • Wonderful Kangaroo Lake Cottage! – Carraigeen

    My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at this cottage for a week in mid-April. It was fabulous! The cottage has everything you need and is extremely comfortable. The decor is lovely and makes for a quaint and cozy stay. The location can’t be beat! We enjoyed spending time outside, watching the loons populate the lake for their morning feeding and were equally mesmerized by the beautiful sunsets in the evening. Martina is great to work with and she was very accommodating, especially given that our visit was a bit before the “season” officially started. We look forward to our next visit to Carraigeen Cottage

    Anne M, Five Stars — April 2017
  • Relaxing Kangaroo Lake retreat – Carraigeen

    Our family of 4 (with two kids ages 8 and 11), stayed here in July 2016. The cottage is clean and beautiful. It has 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, which surprised me since the description only says 1 bath. The lake is lovely and the location is perfect for seeing all of Door County — nothing is far. We enjoyed sitting on the dock and kayaking in the lake. Although small, the cottage has all the amenities you could want with the exception of air conditioning. We happened to be there on 2 of the hottest and most humid days and nights of the year. We spent those hot days away from the cottage or in the lake, but at night it was so hot that it was difficult to sleep (and the only reason for my 4 star review). However, I would not hesitate to stay here again during a cooler season. The neighbors were friendly, and we were surprised to find an area for our kids to run around and play catch.

    DC, Four Stars — July 2016
  • A joyful experience – Carraig Nua

    We stayed in this lovely house for 4 nights, and it was a wonderful experience for all of us. The house is clean and very well prepared to move in. It is a ranch style house, so the kids get to run around and they were super happy. Games, books, all essentials… you count. They even have high chairs ready for your little ones, which is very very thoughtful. We are planning for another visit in next summer.:)

    Claire D, Five Stars — June 2016
  • Great House, Great Location! – Carraig Beag

    This was a great place to stay for our family vacation. There were 5 adults and my 2 1/2 year old daughter. The house is located on the quieter side of the peninsula but still had plenty of restaurants and activities, but also a short drive to the busier areas such as Fish Creek and Sister Bay. The house was very clean and comfortable with great furnishings. We all loved visiting Cana Island Lighthouse which was close by as well as the Hands On Art Studio on a rainy morning. A fun local brewery is also within very close walking distance plus the many wineries in the area! Many things for both adults and children to enjoy!

    MN 79, Five Stars — July 2016
  • Beautiful cottage on the bluff with amazing gardens! – Carraig Mor

    Our family was fortunate to have found this lovely home to stay in at the last minute when a tropical storm changed our Florida vacation plans. We spent the mornings enjoying the peaceful gardens, after walking down the block and getting a great cup of coffee from the Bearded Heart. Right in the heart of the cute town of Baileys Harbor, we could walk to several good restaurants and the lakeshore. The kitchen had everything you need to make a gourmet dinner for a night in of movies by the wood burning fire followed by excellent star gazing on the patio. The kids loved the tire swing! Every room was impeccably decorated with high quality furnishings and decor. Beds were super comfortable and I really liked having my own linens, surprisingly. Made the place feel like home and none of we’re ready to leave when our stay was over. We have already recommended the Carraig Mor to several of our friends.

    Lynn P, Five Stars — June 2016
  • Gorgeous setting for a week in Door County – Carraig Mor

    Our extended family recently met up in Bailey’s Harbor for a a summer reunion. We spread out in several rental homes but Carraig Mor was our “headquarters” for meals and activities. The beautifully landscaped gardens and large yard were great for walks, lawn games like croquet and family pictures. The home with its large wrap-around porch and comfortable living room and family room offered many places to gather in smaller groups. For us, the highlight of the home was the large, open kitchen including a marvelous work island which was a natural gathering area for everyone. This lovely home with its park-like setting was the perfect location for a marvelous week together. It was easily accessible to anywhere in Door County and an easy walk to restaurants, a beach, shops and harbor. Based on our experience, we strongly recommend this fantastic vacation rental!

    PTeacher88, 5 Star — Aug 2015
  • Great Place to get away – Carraig Mor

    This is fabulous house set just one block from Lake Michigan and close to many restaurants and shopping in Baileys Harbor. And just a few miles to the Green bay side of Door County where there are other small quaint towns with more shopping and restaurants. Each town has a beach and lots of hiking trails and parks to explore. The house is furnished beautifully and very comfortable and has a cooks dream of a kitchen. The large yard features and garden that rivals many botanical gardens around the country. Great place for a family get a way.

    Mabb, 5 Star — Julu 2014
  • Great House- Great Location – Carraig Beag

    This was a great place to stay for our family vacation. There were 5 adults and my 2 1/2 year old daughter. The house is located on the quieter side of the peninsula but still had plenty of restaurants and activities, but also a short drive to the busier areas such as Fish Creek and Sister Bay. The house was very clean and comfortable with great furnishings. We all loved visiting Cana Island Lighthouse which was close by as well as the Hands On Art Studio on a rainy morning. A fun local brewery is also within very close walking distance plus the many wineries in the area! Many things for both adults and children to enjoy!

    MN-79, 5 star — July 2016
  • Beautiful garden on the Bluff! – Carraig Mor

    Our family was fortunate to have found this lovely home to stay in at the last minute when a tropical storm changed our Florida vacation plans. We spent the mornings enjoying the peaceful gardens, after walking down the block and getting a great cup of coffee from the Bearded Heart. Right in the heart of the cute town of Baileys Harbor, we could walk to several good restaurants and the lakeshore. The kitchen had everything you need to make a gourmet dinner for a night in of movies by the wood burning fire followed by excellent star gazing on the patio. The kids loved the tire swing! Every room was impeccably decorated with high quality furnishings and decor. Beds were super comfortable and I really liked having my own linens, surprisingly. Made the place feel like home and none of we’re ready to leave when our stay was over. We have already recommended the Carraig Mor to several of our friends.

    Lynn, 5 star — June 2016
  • Great Get Away! – Carraig Mor

    We stayed for a week in Carraig Mor Cottage in Bailey’s Harbor and it was probably the most relaxing vacation I’ve ever had. The house is beautiful – from the gardens, to the kitchen, to the wrap-around deck and the great fireplace in the living room – it was a real escape from the hustle and bustle of the big city. And, the house is perfectly located to stroll down to the Harbor or jaunt over to some of the other delightful towns of Door County. I’d definitely recommend staying at Carraig Mor to see the sights and get some real R&R!

    Peter O, 5 star — September 2015
  • A lovely get-away

    My sister and I spent a lovely week at Carriag Mor, along with my Miniature Schnauzer. The cottage and its grounds are just beautiful. The kitchen is very large; I enjoyed cooking there and relaxing in the family room. Thanks to the many large windows and French doors, we had constant views of the garden. Upstairs, 2 of the bedrooms had views of the lake – I watched the sunrise every morning from those windows! It was wonderful to be able to take evening walks in Baileys Harbor, just a block away. I have already recommended this cottage to friends!

    Ann, 5 star — September 2015
  • Stunning home in Baileys Harbor – Carraig Mor

    This was our first stay in this home and we loved every moment. The house is decorated so beautifully and was very clean. The landscaping was simply amazing. We couldn’t take enough pictures. We have stayed in many homes in Door County and this was one of our favorites for sure. For the house being located right in town it is very private and quite. We can’t say enough about the owner Martina. She was a pleasure to talk with and we really enjoyed her scupltures in and around the house.We also had the pleasure of meeting Peter the landscaper. What a great and interesting guy. We felt like we made a new friend. We could write all day about this property because it is that amazing. Thank you so much for sharing this special piece of heaven. We can’t wait to return.

    Margaret , 5 star — September 2015
  • Carraig Dale in beautiful Door County

    We absolutely loved this cottage. This rental met and surpassed my expectations. Kids still talk about the weeks we spent at Carraig Dale. Ideal location for visiting all our favorite places in Fish Creek, Ephraim, Baileys Harbor, etc. Kids enjoyed flying kites & exploring the large property. We enjoyed biking around the rural location and having adventures in the refined, farm-like setting. I loved the wifi!!!!, chef’s kitchen and all the updated appliances. I miss my quiet time drinking coffee & reading on the deck with a gorgeous view of the surrounding countryside. Could actually imagine living on a farm after staying here!

    Liz D, 5 star — June 2015
  • Carraig Beag

    Very clean and charmingly appointed house. Well stocked and conveniently located to take in all Door County has to offer. Out the door and down a short block to the marina. The heart of the house is the kitchen and livingroom with bedrooms and bathrooms on either side.

    Reilly, 5 star — September 2015
  • Perfect getaway with all the comforts of home – Carraig Mor

    We had a great time at the Carriage Mor Cottage! We decided, very last minute, to head to Door County for a few days before our oldest headed off to college. We were looking for a comfortable place to relax as a family and also to have food and shopping close by. And of course be near the Lake. It was all here! The cottage is a warm, inviting home with plenty of room for our family of 5. The gardens are gorgeous and even though it is just a couple homes away from the main street, if felt very secluded and spacious. We walked to restaurants and did a little shopping and even finished one of our nights sitting by Lake Michigan looking out at the most beautiful full moon. It was 10-20 minutes to all the favorite spots in DC, but truly, you don’t even need to leave the home (or Bailey’s Harbor). We have 3 teenagers and they loved everything. Martina (the owner) was so gracious and accommodating and helped us make this last minute trip feel like on we had planned it perfectly for months. She made sure we knew everything we needed to and even gave us a late checkout because she also knew we wanted to get every moment out of our rare, few days of vacation. We will be back!!

    MPS, 5 star — August 2015
  • Beautiful home and relaxed atomshpere – Carraig Dale

    We came to Carraig Dale seeking a nice getaway and were very happy with the accommodations. The home is newer construction and is spacious enough for two families. Our group had 4 adults, 2 kids and 2 dogs and we all were pretty comfortable. The wrap around deck with sound system was great–we could use Pandora on the television and have it play outside or inside. What struck me was the natural beauty. It’s easy to get wrapped up in the tourist stuff on the bay side of Door County, but here you are far enough away that you can see every star in the sky on a cloudless night and walks along the country road south of the house are really amazing. That said, the house is 5-10 minutes away from Bailey’s Harbor and 15 minutes from the bay side. It’s very convenient to just about anywhere you want to go. Martina and her staff were very accommodating and responsive as well when we needed linens and towels. And if you have dogs, you can’t ask for more. While there is no fence (and you wouldn’t want one here) the dogs have so much room to run and play. We just had a great, memorable experience.

    Steve, 5 star — July 2015
  • Week Vacation – Carraig Dale

    Very well maintained and functional home. Big windows let in wonderful light. Loved the large deck for sitting in the sun. Wonderful country views. Well maintained lawn and home. Nicely decorated with just the right amount of items to feel homey but not cluttered. Very convenient location to Fish Creek, Egg Harbor and Bailey’s Harbor.

    Tierney, 4 Star — July 2015
  • Enchanting Kangaroo Lake Cottage – Carraigeen Cottage

    My family & I spent the month of July 2015 at this cottage. We enjoyed all the dragonflies and seeing the milky way on clear nights. It’s beautifully situated along Kangaroo Lake. Decor and finishings are lovely. Carraig Cottages has raised the bar with their clean and modernized rentals. We also stayed at Carraig Dale in Baileys Harbor. We loved both cottages. 8 year old son and 10 year old daughter enjoyed exploring the shallow lake. I really appreciated having a dishwasher and washer/dryer. We enjoyed the cottage’s close proximity to Coyote Roadhouse and downtown Baileys Harbor. It was hard to leave the lovely setting & head home, but we have many beautiful summer memories.

    Liz, 5 Star — July 2015
  • Had a great time – Carraig Beag

    We all really enjoyed out time at the cottage. It was close enough to the other areas that had more activities but it was nice and quiet. The cottage was well kept and was nice for our whole family. There was a great playground right across the street which our grandson loved each day. The restaurants we very good and close enough to walk to.

    Marty, 5 Star — July 2014
  • Great Place – Carraig Beag

    Carraig Beag was a delightful place to stay. It is a modern, clean and charming home that was very comfortable for our family of 6. Although it is not located on the main drag, we were surprised how walkable it was to everything we normally do and see in Baileys Harbor. A great rental for families, singles, anyone.

    Bonnie, 5 Star — July 2014
  • Visitor for a weekend wedding – Carraig Dale

    I stayed in this home while attending a wedding in Door County at the end of June. This home is beautifully appointed and set up to live comfortably. The central common space is great for gathering and because all of the bedrooms come off of the common space it gives it a cozy communal feel. It even has wifi for those who may not be able to drop out completely while on vacation. The appliances and other amenities are very nice and the home was immaculate and well maintained. We loved using the wrap around porch for both the morning and the evening sun. Centrally located to both Fish Creek, Egg Harbor, and Bailey’s Harbor it’s a bit of a drive to both (10-15 minutes), but all are manageable distances. The country setting is tranquil, quiet, and dark at night. Great for getting a good night’s rest. There is a lot of grassy space around the house for relaxing and playing outside as well. I would recommend this property for people looking to visit the area while staying out of the congestion of the main towns.

    Sarah, 5 Star — June 2014
  • Carraig Mor Is the BEST!

    Carraig Mor is by far the most lovely house we have ever rented. The house lacks for nothing. It is beautifully furnished and immaculate. Three bedrooms and two full bathrooms upstairs and a half bath downstairs. The kitchen is truly amazing. It has everything you could ever need, and it is fabulous. There is a lovely living room with a picture window looking out on the garden. And there is a cozy sitting area off the dining area. But the highlight of the house is the wrap around porch which looks out on the stunning garden. Honestly, it is like your own personal arboretum. What a very special and almost sacred place. We were lucky to be there as July turned to August, as all the flowers were in bloom. We had two dinner parties with local friends, and our guests were in awe of the beauty and lushness of the garden. A special experience.

    Kris, 5 Star — June 2104
  • Wonderful Vacation Rental – Carraig Beag

    Carraig Beag Cottage rental was everything we expected and more. The pictures do not do it justice. The home was very spacious and clean. Martina was extremely easy to work with and responded quickly to all of our inquiries and needs. The garden and grounds were beautiful and very well kept. The house is nicely located. It is just a block away from Bailey’s Harbor Marina. My only disappointment was that I could not stay longer.

    Kevin, 5 Star — June2014
  • a Welcoming home in great location – Carraig Beag

    What a great house, it’s furnished with care and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked, and a pleasure to prepare a meal in. Many a conversation was had around the island as meals were prepare or when we were cleaning up after. As noted in other reviews, the house is within walking distance of the marina, beach and main street. Also within walking distance and well worth a visit is the Blue Ox Bar, it’s a visual delight worth exploring. Fish Creek and Sister’s Bay are both within driving distance. Fish Creek will satisfy the touristy need (vacation gifts etc.) and has some worthy eateries. When all was done, it was nice to return to the serenity of Baileys harbor. Where we hung out, shared tales of the daily events and laughed, in the comfortable setting in our house near the crest of the hill. We’ll be back, in fact we started to plan our next trip days into this one. It was a great trip!

    Molly, 5 Star — June 2014
  • Carraig Beag

    Myself and my family reunited here in Door County for a family wedding. (June 2014) We stayed in one of Martina’s properties “Carraig Beag Cottage”,Bailyes Harbour. A very well proportioned 3 bedroom house,it’s cleanliness and homely feel was apparent on entering the property. It was more than comfortable for the 5 adults staying there. The amenities & facilities were great and the local information left in the cottage by Martina was extremely helpful. The cottage is closely located to near by places of interest like Fish Creek,Sister Bay & The Peninsula (to name a few) It was nice at the end of a busy day to retire to the cottage and it’s peaceful surroundings. On one occaasion we did mix with the locals and other tourists in the local bar which is a short walk away from the cottage also. The wedding cermony we attended was held in another of Martina’s houses called “Carraig Mór”. Although we didn’t stay in this house we sure did feel previliged to have passed through it. It’s rare you visit a house when the gardens are just as impressive as the house. (Needless to say this is why the ceremony took place outside in the garden.) Perhaps if you are travelling here to Door County with a larger group or family “Carrig Mór” would be more suited. I would highly recommend any of Martina’s properties as a place to stay while you’re visiting Door County. Myself and my family made the long trek from Ireland to stay here and it was such a relief for us all to arrive at a destination that was clean,tidy,comfortable,assesable to other places of interest,homely,secure & friendly. I hope anyone else who visits this very special place has a positive experience like we did. Thank you Martina for your hospitality. You’re a natural! Regards The Winters Family Ireland

    Karen, 5 Star — June 2014
  • Lovely Property, pictures do not do it justice- Carraig Mor

    The house furnishings are comfortable, clean and in excellent shape. The grounds are spectacular – I live near the Chicago Botanic Garden in Glencoe and the gardens around this house are at least as spectacular. I enjoyed the more because I had private access and could experience the positive energy flowing through the house and garden without distraction. I was there on a men’s retreat and would recommend the property for this use in addition to the ones listed.

    Chuck, 5 Star — November 2013
  • Wonderful Door County Retreat House – Carraig Mor

    I stayed for a weekend in this wonderful cottage in the fall with a group of friends and found this to be a pleasant getaway. The grounds are wonderful with an impressive garden that should be gorgeous in the Spring, and the cottage is welcoming, well decorated, and modern. It was a little too cool to hang out on the porch but that would be fun in the Summer. The living room with its fireplace and the spacious kitchen with its oversized island are perfect for socializing. It’s a short walk to the main drag and the harbor too. I highly recommend this cottage for a family or small group.

    Bob, 5 Star — November 2013
  • Beautiful Home, Great Location – Carraig Beag

    Enjoyed a wonderful week in Baileys Harbor. The house was clean and very spacious and comfortable and the gardens were beautiful. Especially loved the wrap around porch where we frequently sat out. The location of the house was perfect to stroll into Baileys harbor to the marina, shops and beach or out for dinner at Cornerstone pub or DC Deli. Enjoyed the peace and quiet of Baileys harbor and it was a very short drive to visit the other towns. Rented clear bottomed Kayaks from Lakeshore Adventures and Kayaked from Anclam beach across the bay which was fantastic. A great family week away!

    Jen, 5 Star — August 2013
  • Beautiful Home, Relaxing Week – Carraig Beag

    We stayed at this home for one week and wish it could have been two. The garden and grounds were beautiful. Sitting in the family room you look out a large picture window that frames a garden that slopes upwards — it fills the window and looks like a picture. While the description including a lot of detail regarding the flowers in the garden we were still surprised to see how the garden nestled into the bluffs that border the house just to the west. Made for great solitude. Enjoyed the big open areas to play badminton and bocce ball. The kitchen was very clean and we enjoyed eating in several nights…almost as much as going out. Used the gas grill and ate on the porch, which had the great speaker system. We listened to music when we weren’t listening to the birds. All in all, a very clean, very nicely decorated home. We took many naps on the comfy couches after long days outside. Some nights we found it hard to get off the couch to go to the bedrooms! We’ll definitely go back for the location, quality and pure relaxation…a vacation to remember.

    Henry, 5 Star — July 2013
  • Great for families – Carraig Nua

    This beautiful home was a perfect place for a family vacation. We loved the design with two bedrooms on each of the wings (4 bedrooms). This provided privacy for our two families. There was plenty of spacious common area for us to get together for meals, games, and relaxation. We also enjoyed our morning coffee on the large deck with a lovely view of the countryside. We had fun playing badminton and volleyball in the big grassy yard. We were in a convenient location, with quick access to all that Door County has to offer. This home provided us a quiet and peaceful place to enjoy our time together.

    Pam, 5 Star — September 01 2013
  • Family vacation – Carraig Dale

    The house was tastefully decorated and pleasant.  It is situated in the countryside outside Bailey’s Harbor just off the highway that crosses the peninsula to Fish Creek.  An atmospheric old barn on the property adds to the experience.

    Joel, — August 31 2013
  • St. Louis Siblings and their wives & kids – Carraig Dale

    What a wonderful week with family!  The house was decorated so cute and we loved having the huge lot for the three little kids to play on.  It’s a great setting for wonderful photos of the family.  We loved the look of the old, big barn on the outside.  The Bailey’s Harbor beach was so close by and we loved the location for access to all parts of The Door.  We don’t just linger in on town…we head far North and South and we were right in the center of it all while still having peace and quiet.  Can’t wait to get back next year!  Martina was amazing to work with. ; )

    C olleen , — August 19 2013
  • Carraig Nua’s Charming Appeal

    My children, family, friends and I stayed at this beautiful home the first weekend in August. We could not have chosen a nicer home to stay in. It was large and spacious enough for a party of 13 and the décor was very stylish and homey. We really loved the huge deck with and amazing grill. This home is located in the country and in a quite location. The yard is a nice size for playing volley ball and yard game with lovely flower beds to enjoy. We would love the opportunity to make our way back to Door County in the future.

    Mona Lisa, 5 Star — August 18 2013
  • Beautiful home, relaxing week – Carraig Mor

    We stayed at this home for one week and wish it could have been two.  The garden and grounds were beautiful.  Sitting in the family room you look out a large picture window that frames a garden that slopes upwards — it fills the window and looks like a picture.  While the description including a lot of detail regarding the flowers in the garden we were still surprised to see how the garden nestled into the bluffs that border the house just to the west.  Made for great solitude. Enjoyed the big open areas to play badminton and bocce ball.  The kitchen was very clean and we enjoyed eating in several nights…almost as much as going out.  Used the gas grill and ate on the porch, which had the great speaker system.  We listened to music when we weren’t listening to the birds.  All in all, a very clean, very nicely decorated home.  We took many naps on the comfy couches after long days outside.  Some nights we found it hard to get off the couch to go to the bedrooms!

    We’ll definitely go back for the location, quality and pure relaxation…a vacation to remember.

    Henry, — August 13 2013
  • Beautiful! – Carraig Mor

    The cottage was beautiful! We stayed for 3 days/2 nights as a bachelorette party getaway trip in June. The cottage was spotless when we arrived and the decor is charming yet still modern. Close to lots of fun shops and a short walk to the waterfront. Would definitely recommend. Thank you!

    Cherie, — July 18 2013
  • Great Experience! We’ll be back! – Carraig Mor

    First time vacation home rental and we loved it!  Don’t think I ever want to stay in a hotel for a vacation again!
    1.  The listing description was accurate regarding the location.  If you look at the pictures, that is exactly what you will see.

    2.  The photos accurately reflect the appearance and amenities, except the gardens are way more amazing than the pictures can show.  Some of the furniture in the pictures is not what is in the house (like the couches) but what is there is even better, so to me this was not an issue.

    3.  The house was clean and well-maintained.  I am a super neat-freak and I thought it was perfect.  I did sweep the deck and deck ceiling, but only because I hate spiders and there were a few small webs.  The next morning the webs were back, so this is not an issue of the owners not maintaining but rather nature doing it’s thing.  🙂

    4.  The owner, Martina, was AMAZING at answering all my questions and concerns! Not only that, she has tons of information on the house and the area that she left in a basket for the guests.  That was really nice to go through over coffee the first morning as we planned the week.

    5  Would I recommend this property to friends/family?  YES, YES, YES! The kids played in the yard at least 2 hours a day.  Tire swing, croquet, and tag.

    6.  I liked the town it’s in because it’s quiet.  It’ an easy 10-20 min drive to most places in DC.  In town, there is a nice little ice cream store- Yum Yum Tree, a little bar called the Blue Ox (which was great the night we watched the BlackHawks win the Stanley Cup) and a few little stores (check out the book store right down the street!).  Outside of Bailey’s Harbor, we went Go-Carting & Zip Lining in Egg Harbor – fantastic play area.  Shopping at all the little towns, did the Ghost Tour (which is file for kids as little as 7 or 8).  We also went to Hand’s On Art which was really fun to do with the kids.

    Other-  We knew there was no cable or WiFi which was fine with us, but we had a hard time getting an cell or internet with our smart phones in most places in DC.  We have AT&T so that I think is an issue with them.  There is Wi-fi at the Blue Ox and the Coffee shop right down the street.

    There is also a hardware store near the house that sells about everything a WalMart does but at 10 times the cost.  Try not to forget anything!  If you do, go to the WalMart in Sturgeon Bay, even with gas, it’ll be cheaper!

    Overall-  AMAZING, LOVED IT! WILL GO AGAIN FOR SURE!

    Road Warrior, — July 18 2013
  • Country Quiet

    We enjoyed our stay at Carraig Dale.  The setting is very quiet and peaceful.  If you want hustle and bustle where you stay, this is not for you.  The location is very convenient to both sides of Door County, as you will just be a short drive to Bailey’s Harbor and about a 5-7 minute drive to Fish Creek.  The home was very clean and comfortable with nice beds/bedding and comfortable furniture inside.  Large deck is nice and very peaceful in the evening.  If you don’t need to be on the water or within walking distance of resturants and shops, this is worth considering.

    DC Visitors, — July 6 2013
  • Nice quite house close to Bailey’s Harbor – Carraig Dale

    Nice quiet location only a short distance from Bailey’s Harbor.  We had 3 couples in our party and it was the perfect size for that.  We absolutely loved the deck!

    Julie, — June 17 2013
  • Fall Week at Carraig Mor

    beautifully maintained house with some amenities, gorgeous gardens, easy access to all activities in Door County, well-suited for three couples,

    Becky, — September 29 2012
  • Cute cottage on the lake – Carraigeen

    Nothing beats being able to sit on the lawn and enjoying the sunset in privacy. The cottage is close enough to anything in Door County, yet provides quiet time away from resort like hustle. Nicely remodeled too. Our daughter (7 years old) enjoyed walking on the boat deck and “fishing” nearby. The restaurant within walking distance makes the cottage even more attractive.

    Oli, — July 29 2012
  • Wonderful lake views in an excellent location

    Carraigeen Cottage is located on beautiful Kangaroo Lake. The water temperature was perfect for swimming and other water activities. While my husband and I were there, the temperatures were in the high 80s, so time in the lake offered a nice break from the heat.

    The cottage is conveniently located near Baileys Harbor and Egg Harbor. It is nicely decorated. We were very comfortable there. I would have rated our stay excellent if it hadn’t been for the very high temperatures. The cottage does not have air conditioning, which normally isn’t needed in Door County, but it would have been nice to have for this one unusually hot week. Thankfully the cabin is nestled among many mature trees, so their shade offered a lot of relief from the heat.

    Martina is great! Her informational emails gave us wonderful insights into the area.

    Kris, — June 30 2012
  • Relaxing in Door – Carraigeen

    My son and I rented the cottage for 3 weeks. It is beautifully decorated, but rather small, about the size of a hotel room.The beds were very comfortable and it was very clean.  I would recommend it for a weekend stay or no longer than a week for more than 1 person.  We have been visiting Door County for over 20 years and this was our first stay on Kangaroo Lake. The water is steps away from the cottage and is warm and shallow. The owners are very nice and informative. We did have some friends visit for several days and used a blow-up mattress for the extra people.  My intention was to cook most of the time, but the size of the kitchen area was prohibitive, so we did end up eating out alot.There is also a large gas grill that is available for guests to use. Some of the places we like to eat are: Coyote Roadhouse (just across the causeway), Cornerstone Pub (Bailey’s Harbor), Julie’s (Fish Creek), and The Mill (Sturgeon Bay). We play mini golf, visit winerys and always go to the drive-in movie. We rented kayaks during our stay and had them delivered. Relaxing is our main pastime. Carriageen Cottage is a perfect place to kick back and read, swim, or do nothing at all. I would recommend staying here for a couples or girlfriends weekend or if you want to get away all by yourself!

    Door County Fanatic, — September 30 2011
  • Autumn at Kangaroo Lake

    Carraigeen Cottage was a delight;  compact, well equipped ,very clean and furnished to a high standard. It was great to be so close to the lake and wildlife.
    Making the reservation and paying was simple, considering that we were doing this from the UK. Martina always returned e-mails promptly and was available on the phone.
    We would definitely recommend this property.Door County is beautiful, we enjoyed it immensely, but it was nice to know that we could get away from the ‘crowds’ back to our little hideaway.We loved to walk across the causeway to Coyote Roadhouse in the evening and the weather for the week was amazing! Thanks Martina for sharing this little gem

    Yvonne & Gary, — September 06 2011
  • Long weekend on the lake – Carraigeen

    Location was fabulous- it was relaxing and truly a vacation with nothing to do but enjoy!  We will be back this summer.  And booking and arrangements were simple!

    Shirley, — August 19 2010
  • Beautiful and Cozy – Carraigeen

    Thanks Martina for sharing your beautiful cottage with us.  It is so cozy, clean and comfortable.  It’s like a home away from home.  The location couldn’t be better.  It was within a 5 minute drive to a winery and restaurants.  Also very close to Fish Creek, Egg Harbor, Bailey’s Harbor and the state park.  Great location for biking and kayaking right from the dock outside the back door.  It was the relaxing weekend that I needed.  I enjoyed sitting on the dock in the afternoon and enjoying the breezes and views of Kangaroo Lake.  I will definitely be back.  Once again, thank you.

    Marge2, — Sept 03 2010
  • Nice and new cottage – Carraigeen

    We loved your studio cottage on Kangaroo Lake.  The location was perfect for our vacation as well.  And the owners were very accomodating!!

    Lisa, — August 13 2010
  • 4 Paws Up!

    Yes, we freely admit, we are some of the serial renters of this lovely cottage named ‘Carraig Mor.’ This has been our third visit to Bailey’s Harbor. And it is my belief that no higher compliment can be paid to an owner and their property but continued patronage.

    Autumn in Door feels as though it has come early this year. The fall leaves are at their peak of color and the days are crisp in temperature with a brisk breeze. Our previous visits had been closer to mid October in the past, with fewer festivals to attend. This year’s bonanza happened to be visiting during the Columbus Day weekend where there was plenty of activities to choose from (should you be so inclined). My favorite happened to be the quilt show at Mr. G’s in Jacksonport.

    One of these days, we must come during the warmer weather when the magnificent gardens are in full bloom.  Though Sophie, our Golden Retriever, is a cold loving doggie – we may change it up soon!

    The house is a stones throw from the main street of town and the shores of Lake Michigan. It is nestled amid lush greenery that provides an oasis from any of the surrounding neighbors homes. The gardens are truly spectacular in esthetic color and design.

    Carraig Mor is heads and shoulders above the typical D.C.rental property. The cottage has a homey feel and a calm welcoming vibe that encourages you to sit down and stay awhile, visit, make friends and come back soon! It is spacious, well designed and fully stocked (see website).  Martina & Jerry are discerning owners. (You can also see my previous reviews for additional comments).

    But, shhhh – don’t tell too many folks about this gem of a place!

    Val and Ross, — October 06 2012
  • Fall Week at Carraig Mor

    beautifully maintained house with some amenities, gorgeous gardens, easy access to all activities in Door County, well-suited for three couples,

    Becky, — September 29 2012
  • Paradise Found

    Our 2 weeks at Carraig Mor were delightful. The house is lovely and the garden is spectacular … way better than photos show. Our family enjoyed hiking, kayaking, a picnic on Washington Island, a lecture in Bailey’s Harbor and a Scandinavian Fiddlefest, among other things. But the very best part was sitting on the wrap around porch watching the wildlife that visited and reading while the afternoon breezes from the lake were caught by the bluff. It was great to be able to make arrangements to keep our little dog with us, too. We found Martina to be a very gracious hostess who was really interested in making our stay pleasant.

    Celtic Woman, — August 17 2012
  • Local family

    We love vacationing in Door County due to the proximity to our Green Bay home.  This was our first year staying at Carraig Mor, but it will not be our last.  We loved the gardens and the ability to walk into town to get ice cream or pick up some items from the grocery store at the gas station.  Our 4 children enjoyed walking across the street to the post office to mail postcards to their Grandma and Grandpa.  The house is absolutely beautiful and my husband and I discussed the possibility of renewing our vows in the garden on our 20th wedding anniversary.  We would highly recommend the Carraig Mor to anyone interested in a relaxing vacation in Door County.

    Sarah and Steve, — August 03 2012
  • Relaxing and wonderful! – Carraig Beag

    We enjoyed our stay in Bailey’s Harbor! This is a clean and comfortable place to stay. MArtina was prompt and helpful. As others have mentioned, it’s nice to walk around the marina, town and down to the beach.We all read a lot so we appreciated the fact that there are lamps appropriately placed in the living room and bedrooms.  We found it to be convenient to drive to other Door Co spots.
    We had a wonderful time.
    We will be back!

    vacationer, — August 3 2012
  • Wonderful location! – Carraig Beag

    We (our family of 5 with children aged 12-17) stayed at this property for the first time at the end of July into the first week of August of 2012.  It was our first time visiting Door County.  We all want to go back again!  The house is charmingly decorated and is in a quiet subdivision that is a short walk from the marina as well as “downtown” Bailey’s Harbor.  We stayed at the property with our dog and loved the public beach that was within walking distance from the home that allowed dogs on leash.  Our family also enjoyed the ice cream, restaurants, and kayak and jet ski rentals; all within a short distance from the house.  Although we were on what the locals refer to as the “quiet” side of the peninsula, we (children aged 12-17) found lots to do and when we wanted the more touristy shopping areas or restaurants, they were all within a 10-20 minute drive. We love to bike and highly recommend checking out the Peninsula State Park as well as enjoying Whitefish Dunes State Park for its sandy beaches (one end allows dogs).  Martina was great to work with and obviously cares about the property her family rents out.  We’d highly recommend this location and Martina’s rental.

    Ally, — July 27 2012
  • Loved it!! – Carraig Beag

    We had SUCH a delightful time in Door County, and your home was so comfortable and quiet.  We had so many adventures:  a square dance, a fish boil in the park across the street from your house, feeding baby cows at a dairy farm down the road, going to The Farm, Not Licked Yet, sunsets at Sunset Beach…..these are just a few….we rented kayaks and paddleboats from the market in Bailey’s Harbour, went to the drive in movie, swam at Nicolet beach, had cherry stuffed french toast at the White Gull Inn (TWICE) and managed to squeeze in four “chick flicks” from the library.  It was somehow both completely relaxing and adventurous simultaneously!  We met SUCH nice people.
    Door County is just such a gem, and we will DEFINITELY be back!!
    Thank you for the use of your home, it was a perfect “home base” for our trip!

    Alyssa and Ellie, — July 13 2012
  • Beautiful retreat from the world! – Carraig Mor

    We felt that we had entered a good friend’s home for the week!  There were even board games for all ages.  Do remember sheets, towels and toiletries, including bath soap. The home looks like new and the kitchen is fully equipped for anything you might want to cook.  Martina left a wonderful book filled with area recommendations and brochures including activities and dining.

    There is A/C which is not always the case in Door County. It struggled a bit upstairs during the hottest week Door County has had in 14 years, but my guess is that it is adequate most of the time!

    The garden is indescribably beautiful. A mother deer and 2 little ones walked right by the back porch while I was enjoying a cool drink one afternoon.  The children loved the tire swing.  Pleanty of space in the house for all. The separate living areas were wonderful!

    Hope to go back during the fall some year soon!  Thank you for a wonderful week in a beautiful area!

    Wichita Woman, — June 29 2012
  • Friends & Families Together in One Roof.

    We started planning on Thursday for a 3 day 2 night getaway with 4 families over the May Long weekend. Our search got limited because we wanted to take our dog along too. Luckily for us Martina’s Carraig Mor Cottage became available at the right moment. Martina was very helpful in answering all our queries and in understanding the difficulty in co-ordinating with 4 families w/ 3 toddlers. Martina was available till 10:00 pm until we co-ordinated the schedule.

    When we reached the house, it was very very clean.We were totally impressed with the cleanliness. The kitchen very well stocked up with – utensils, basic supplies, cleaning supplies,dishwasher. We were cooking/eating at home most of the time and the utensils were enough for 8 adults & 3 kids. We had enough bedding and additional bedding & linens (just in case). The home had free wifi (really useful in no Data Zone). There was a 32″ Flat Screen TV with 3D Blue ray player with Wifi & netflix. This kept the kids busy.

    There is a nice BBQ grill. We found out the grill was missing Gas tank. Martina was just a phone away and co-ordinated to pick the gas tank. To enjoy the BBQ the house had awesome patio furniture too.

    The house is nicely located. It is just a block away from Bailey’s Harbor Marina. Home had enough parking in the driveway to accomodate 4 big cars.

    Martina was totally helpful and approaching. She allowed us to check in early and check out late and was feasible to accomodate our schedule.

    She refunded the security deposit & the cost of the gas tank that we bought within a week after our stay.

    The next time we need to go to Door County we dont need to find for another place cos we have already found the perfect HOME AWAY FROM HOME :))

    Fun Trooper, — May 26 2012
  • wonderful vacation cottage – Carraig Beag

    This is an outstanding rental that is furnished with quality and comfort.  The house is immaculate and well equiped.The location is extremely great for those who enjoy walking to nearby restaurants and the harbor. The homeowners are accommodatimg and easy to communicate with. The people in Bailey’s Harbor are by far the friendliest of anywhere I have traveled. I highly recommend this cottage.

    Cathe, — May 18 2012
  • An uncommonly beautiful Door County property!

    Carriag Mor cottage is a bit of heaven.

    While this has only been our second visit to Carriag Mor/Bailey’s Harbor, the feeling doesn’t change – it feels like home.This property is exquisitely maintained and the location is perfect – a stone’s throw from the local ice cream shop and coffee bar.  Who could ask for more?

    The property looks exactly as advertised in their photo. The owners are helpful, friendly and very accommodating. Oh wait, I forgot to add, proactive – as there is a binder, located in the kitchen, with any pertinent information that you may need answers to.  Their homes floor plan is well designed.  There are two separate indoor areas for comfortable seating on the first floor.  The kitchen, which lies in between those two areas, is large and well stocked with an island that yells “cook here tonight!”  The dining room table seats 6-8 and overlooks the gorgeous back yard.

    We are a retired couple, and fairly flexible in the booking arena.  We love to visit DC in the fall for the explosion of color, the cool outdoor temperatures and nightly fires in the family room’s fireplace. This vacation week we identified as our ‘cultural time out’ and it was spent without the intrusion of the various news sources. It was grand. (But we are also tossing around the idea of returning next summer too.  I expect that the summertime would also be a fun explore. I am rather intrigued by the local drive-in!)

    There are so many things to do and see. Lots of little shops and restaurants to explore. Also a terrific representation of local artists.

    As a couple of our Cincinnati friends commented, “this is definately NOT your usual Door County property – this is g o r g e o u s!”   — as a side bar to that comment, the couple has owned a summer home in Sister Bay for 25+ years. We agree – do yourself a favor and make a reservation. You’ll be happy you did!

    Valerie , — October 13 2011
  • Nice, Quiet Retreat – Carraig Beag

    My husband and I, along with our little puggle, Gizmo, greatly enjoyed the comfy cottage in Bailey’s Harbor. The back yard was so convenient for the dog, and the cottage kitchen comes very nicely equipped for cooking. It was so nice to have essentials waiting so not everthing had to be packed. It’s almost having your own place.
    Location is just a short walk to the harbor, restaurants, shops, and even the morning paper.
    We would recommend this very clean, neat and peaceful location for a vacation.

    Dave, — September 30 2011
  • Carraig Mor Visit

    Our family truly enjoyed our visit to Carraig Mor.  The location is perfect.  It’s close enough to downtown Bailey’s Harbor to walk to a restaurant or coffee shop.  The house was very clean and comfortable.  The garden and property is a beautiful in person as it is in the pictures on this website. The owner was very helpful in recommending places to go in Door County.  The only downside to this property is that linens are not provided.  It’s a lot to pack sheets and towels for a family.  Otherwise, I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to visit the quieter side of the peninsula and wants a beautiful, comfortable house to stay in

    Rebecca, — September 07 2011
  • Summer Stay

    Another wonderful vacation at Carraig Mor.  We enjoyed reading on the porch, walks to Yum Yum tree, and coffee with the hummingbirds in the morning.  Thank you for keeping the house so well stocked for people, like me, with children.  The kids appreciated the tire swing, balls and toys that you keep there.  We never had to find a park — everything was right there.  This place is just what the doctor ordered — comfortable, clean, and relaxing.

    Stefanie, — August 25 2011
  • Great stay; perfect accomodations

    Our rental of Carriag Beag was our first through VRBO; and also our first visit to Door County.  The home was just as described; and the owners couldn’t have been any more helpful or friendly.  The home was spotless, pleasantly decorated, and easily accommodated a family of 4 with two teens, and Grandma, too!  Very well situated for either walking to Bailey’s Harbor restaurants, coffee shops, or ice cream parlor; or getting to any Door County location quickly – most often well under a 20 minute drive.   The baskets of Door County magazines and brochures was very helpful.  Although we found too many restaurants to choose from, when we did eat in, we found everything we needed in the kitchen.  It’s evident this owner takes pride in their rentals — and they should!

    First Time Renter, — August 21 2011
  • Carraig Beag

    We stayed a week at Martina’s house in Baileys Harbor. The house itself was lovely and comfortable. Its location was convenient to everything we did in Door County. We enjoyed being able to walk into town whenever we wanted. We have a multi-generational family, and house worked well for that as well. Also, we have dogs, and our vacation suited them just right as well!. We look forward to renting with Martina again, who also has other rental properties. She was pleasant to deal with, and very fair! Thanks Again.

    x0x0, — July 29 2011
  • Wonderful Cottage in Great Location! – Carraig Beag

    Very well equipped, comfortable cottage.  Excellent quiet location but close to everything. We will most definitely return!  The owners are great and have really thought of everything that one would need to have a comfortable stay.

    Family of 10, — July 17 2011
  • Hope to get back soon – Carraig Mor

    My family and I enjoyed a beautiful week in Door County with lovely, spacious accommodations!
    We have teenage boys so we did lots of swimming, hiking and biking. Loved the Cana Lighthouse tour.
    My mother accompanied us so the girls also took advantage of the Door County shopping.
    We did have most meals at home because of the chef’s kitchen and of course the view of the
    amazing garden.  After dinner lots of cards on the ample rap-around porch.
    Just bring a little extra dollars for the daily visit to the Yum-Yum Tree.
    Loved that it was pet friendly!
    Owners a delight to work with.

    Toby, — July 15 2011
  • Door County Escape

    Two families shared this home the second week of July and could not be more pleased with the time that we spent there.  The two moms are both into gardening and they reached their personal nirvana’s when they surveyed the grounds for the first time. We met the gardener who maintains the grounds for the owner and the three of them had a good time talking shop.

    We had seven people in our party and we did not feel crowded in the home at all.  The kitchen is a cook’s dream and the seating areas soft and comfortable.  The home was immaculately maintained and decorated in inviting colors and fabrics.  Having a washer and dryer was helpful in not having to bring home dirty clothes or bring as many items to wear.  Our party also included a family pet which was accomodated by the owner with the payment of an additional fee.

    The home does not have cable TV and cannot pick up local stations via antenna.  If you don’t want to be out of touch with the rest of the world, this is not the place for you.  Four teenage kids (2 boys, 2 girls) were in our group and they got their video fix by watching DVD’s and playing X-Box (that we brought with us).  The adults watched movies or enjoyed the quiet time to catch up on their reading.

    Baileys Harbor is a quiet location and the home is only a short walk from its small commercial area and harbor.  A well maintained public beach is only a 10 minute walk from the home and you pass the local coffe shop on the way.  It is a good central location to explore Door County from as it is a short ride to nearby wineries as well as Fish Creek, Ephraim, Sister Bay and other communities.

    If Ii could change one thing about our stay it would have been the provision of clean sheets and towels with the home rental.  Given the weekly rental fee it would be nice to have clean linens supplied instead of having to bring an entire suitcase full of linens with us.

    Flatlander,
  • Carraig Mor

    The property was precisely as described – a lovely home, beautifully decorated and very comfortable, with a fabulous garden, just a block from shopping, the lake and restaurants.  The setting was perfect, everything possible was provided, from scrabble to grill tools! – and we cannot rave enough.

    Thank you, Martina!!

    Chuck, — July 07 2011
  • Tranquility Plus

    Carraig Mo’r was a delightful vacation spot.  It was well suited for our family group of eight which included a married daughter and her husband.  The photos don’t fully capture the beauty of the garden views…beyond description, almost unreal.  The first impression of this home came as we walked in and looked out the living room picture window.  It was a living picture right before our very eyes….breathtaking.  We enjoyed plenty of space spreading out in the house , on the porch, and in the yard.  The yard, also, is larger than the photos convey.  Lots of space to play, throw a football, etc.  Even though there was plenty of room for us in this home, we often found our children in one of the bedrooms sitting on the beds and telling stories while laughing and enjoying the companionship of each other.  A favorite spot…a half block away was the Yum Yum Tree.  Daily visits were made here and enjoyed by all, since old fashioned candy, contemporary sweets, chocolates, and caramels are available for purchase in single quantities.  We were able to sample small amounts often without feeling compelled to finish a bag of sweets at a time.  Another spot we visited twice was the Cornerstone Pub.  It is a family friendly place with a cheery hostess, wonderful service, and reasonable prices.  The other family favorite spot in town was the marina, also within a short walking distance from the house.  Anglers, old and young, serious and casual, can be seen here.  One man even offered our son his fishing pole for a couple of hours! Shopkeepers in town were very friendly and welcoming. Not one disappointing experience in this regard.  Baileys Harbor is a jewel on the Door County Peninsula….a quiet spot on the lake side with all the amenities and interests without the hubbub of tourists and traffic on the bay side.  We took advantage of some of the bay side offerings…an easy drive to that side of the peninsula for groceries, Segway tours, shopping, golfing, etc.  Our vacation at Carraig Mo’r and Baileys Harbor can best be summarized by my husband’s enthusiastic comment, “This was the most relaxing vacation I have ever had.”

    Judi, — June 24 2011
  • Beautiful house, fantastic gardens!

    We really enjoyed our stay at Carraig Mor Cottage, it was clean, very comfortable and really lacked for nothing.  We were traveling with our 2.5 year old son, and were so pleased to find that the house had toys, high chair, baby gate, and so many other items that helped make our vacation week easy with a little guy.  It is impossible to describe the gardens, the pictures really do not do them justice.  All in our party loved exploring the huge, and perfectly maintained gardens!!!!  The view from the picture window in the family room was gorgeous!!

    Jennifer, — June 17 2011
  • We had a wonderful time at the cottage – Carraig Beag

    We had a wonderful time at the cottage, very convenient for exploring Door County and also for walking into town. It was the annual “Scottie dog” parade while we were there in May, the best parade we have seen in years.  The cottage is extremely comfortable and clean and is so well equipped it is like “home from home” We have also stayed at Carraig Mor, equally as good, a larger cottage  with an amazing  garden , a must see and so relaxing . Martina is a wonderful host and so easy to work with, nothing is too much trouble.  The whole family look forward to our next visita wonderful time at the cottage

    Maggie, — May 20 2011
  • Beautiful home and garden

    Three generations of family enjoyed our lovely weekend at Carraig Mor Cottage.  The location was perfect for us.  We all appreciated the beautiful garden and outdoor seating.  The kitchen is great — spacious, beautiful, and functional.

    It was a pleasure corresponding with the owners (timely and very helpful) in advance of our rental.   Very positive first experience with VRBO!

    Anon, — May 20 2011
  • Girls Getaway Weekend

    This is the perfect spot!  You feel welcomed the minute you step through the front door.  We have stayed many places during our 10 years of our “Girls Getaway Weekends” and this was definitely one of the very best.  If you need a place to unwind, share life’s stories, drink some wine, and get a great night’s sleep – this is it!!  (Speaking of wine – if you haven’t stopped by the Door Peninsula Winery in Sturgeon Bay – it’s a must see!)  Also – the owners are warm and caring – which is very important to us.  We would recommend Carraig Mor Cottage to anyone and everyone!

    Anne, — November 12 2010
  • Lovely Fall Festival Stay – Carraig Mor

    We celebrated my mother’s 89th birthday and another couples’ 45th wedding anniversary during a long fall weekend in 2010 which also encompassed the Sister Bay Fall Festival.  The house proved to be a lovely and comfortable base for all activities. As a serious cook and foodie I especially enjoyed the wonderful kitchen and beautiful grounds.  There will be no question that I will be returning to enjoy this beautiful property again and again!.

    Carol, — October 14 2010
  • Great Home, Great Location! – Carraig Beag

    My husband and I, our teenage children, and our lovable lab decided to take a family trip up to Door County for the long weekend. The cottage was perfect! Super clean, very accommodating, and nicely decorated. Being a very busy weekend, the other towns were over crowded, but Bailey’s Harbor was a perfect location. The cottage is seriously walking distance to everything! Great little backyard for kids and dog! I would highly recommend this home for other families!

    Happy Family, — October 08 2010
  • Family Fun

    We wanted to let you know we had a wonderful time during our trip to Door County.  Your home was The Carraig Mor Cottage was so lovely!  It fit all of our needs perfectly.

    Everyone enjoyed the beautiful garden and felt at home instantly.  The kids especially loved the tire swing and playing in the Fall leaves.

    Thanks for sharing you home!

    Hawkeye, — October 04 2010
  • The cottage and gardens are amazing

    The cottage and gardens are amazing,so homely and comfortable. The ‘picture window’ in the living room has fantastic views of the garden, and so relaxing after the drive.   Everything was perfect.  We were there over Labor Day weekend it was so relaxing to enjoy the gardens, but also nice to be able to walk to the beach and the town and also close to drive to many of Door County many parks and attractions.We were all sorry to leave and will certainly recommend Carraig Mor to our friends and family.  Thanks Martina
    for all your help in answering our questions and allowing to share your piece of paradise

    Maggie, — September 03 2010
  • Perfect

    This place is perfection.  I would recommend Carraig Mor to anyone.  The house, yard, gardens, and rock formations are honestly breath-taking.  I had no idea how beautiful and well maintained it would be.  It was wonderful to cook in the beautiful kitchen, read in the sunny window looking out at the gardens, and truly be comfortable in the home.   We had coffee on the porch in the morning, played Fisbee, went on the tire swing, etc. The house is perfectly appointed for a girl’s weekend or a family vacation.  The house is stocked with everything you will need to have a perfect vacation, and it is clean, clean, clean.  Martina is very easy to work with, and very accommodating.

    Stefanie, — August 27 2010
  • Carraig Mor

    Our family of 8, four in the Felts group, and four in the Wolfe group, enjoyed a delightful week at Carraig Mor Cottage in July.  The main level kitchen area was ideal for this family reunion–lots of space for cooking, eating, snacking, visiting, etc.  And the gardens were so fine–they read, and played games, and even napped a bit outside.  It was like living in a garden park!  We all created genuine memories to last a lifetime!  A joy-filled stay! Thank you for sharing your welcoming home.

    Momsie, — August 20 2010
  • A Slice of Door County Heaven

    The week we spent at Carraig Mor with our family could not be matched by any other property in Door County.  The layout of the home is so open and spacious and it spills out into a garden area beyond compare.  There is not one thing we would have changed with our experience and we look forward to creating more memories in the future at Carraig Mor.

    Chris, — August 20 2010
  • A truly beautiful home…..

    This is truely a beautiful home and spectacular garden! I love the fact that you could walk to town yet when you sit in the garden you feel like you are a million miles away! The owners were wonderful- very accomodating and helpful and quick to reply.
    I would highly recomend this property to anyone and I hope we can go back someday soon!
    Thanks for everything!

    Dana, — July 30 2010
  • We had a perfect time….

    We had a perfect time at the Carraig Beag Cottage.  Our group of 2 grandparents, 2 parents and two kids under the age of 3 all thought that the cottage was PERFECT.  Everything we could have needed was there.  Baileys Harbor was the perfect quiet town for our family getaway — A quick walk into town or the library and a 3 minute drive to a great beach.  We enjoyed all of the comforts provided in the cottage from baking equipment to a great grill.  It allowed us to eat our breakfasts and lunches in the cottage and venture out to the nearby towns for dinner.  I would highly recommend this rental to families and others alike.  Martina was great to work with an very hospitable.  A vacation to remember!

    Kate, — July 23 2010
  • Thank you for your generous hospitality…

    We had such a wonderful weekend and what a lovely home to watch the leaves change color. Our time spent at Carraig Mor Cottage was filled with laughter, joy, and family – all the ingredients needed for a great time. However, the home provide the last piece to the puzzle and made this trip such a great experience. The location was as close to perfect as you can get from all that Door County has to offer and everyone fell in love with the garden. You have inspired my mother to try and replicate something similar now in her own home!

    Everything was right were you said it would be and we never had to search very far for something. Sunday morning was absolutely beautiful and it was truly wonderful to bask in the sun which draped through the large windows all over the house.

    Thank you again for opening up your lovely home to us and we are already planning our next visit. The accommodations were first class and by far one of the best getaways we’ve had in sometime. We look forwrad to staying at the cottage again and thank you for the generous hospitality.

    Bhanpuri Family, — November 05 2009
  • Carraig Mor

    We had an absolutely magical time at your home with our kids.  We thoroughly enjoyed your well stocked kitchen and the warm ambience created by your well thought out decorating.  The house lent itself to snuggling up with each other to enjoy special moments.  The garden is an out of this world experience.  Thank you for your hospitality.  We look forward to many returns.

    Anon, — November 03 2009
  • Carraig Mor

    What a wonderful and magical place.  My words could never do justice to the feelings of serenity that was felt there.  We hope to return this summer.

    Karen, — October 22 2009
  • Carraig Mor

    Our stay at Carraig Mor Cottage was absolutely delightful! My husband & I were seeking a calm, peaceful port-in-the-storm sanctuary after our survival of his cancer treatment this past year & (most recently) the decision to put our home up for sale. THIS is an absolutely gorgeous property!The wrap-around porch with the wide steps just begs to be used – sitting outside in the morning watching the daybreak, with a cup of coffee & newspaper, eating an apple in the sun or, in the evening to enjoy a glass of wine. The terraced botanical gardens are stunning in their complex landscape design and various rare species. The backyard is completely private, edged by trees that surround the property. This is a perfect venue for an outdoor wedding! We loved exploring the area art gallery’s and restaurants. (Tho, I would kill to have a kitchen like the one at the Cottage!!) The nightly (fireplace) wood fires were our favorite part of the day.  [Bundled wood can be purchased (honor system) from properties during your drive around the area.]  And, really, we were sad to leave!  It’s the first time (for me) that it didn’t seem as though we had been gone nearly two weeks. The owners take meticulous care of their property and are leave nothing to the imagination. They are a dream!

    Valerie, — October 21 2009
  • Carraig Mor

    Dear Martina and Jerry, We really enjoyed staying at your home.Everything was really nice and well maintained.We came at the right time of year because the weather was exceptional, nice days and breezy nights.This was out first trip to Door County and we could not have found a nicer place to stay at. Also the hospitality of Door County was very welcoming. I will definately tell my friends and family about this lovely home and about visiting Door County.  Thankyou for accomodating my family, In his everlasting grace,

    Colletta, — September 25 2009
  • Our Group of 5 women….

    Our group of 5 women stayed at Carraig Mor the first week of August, 2009, and it couldn’t have been better! At the end of week, none of us wanted to leave and we all decided we could easily live there. From our first steps into the house, we knew it was a wonderful spot for us to relax and reconnect. The rooms were all better than the pictures and the beautiful decorating was exactly our style. The house was the perfect size for us and we really did have everything we needed. We spent a lot of time gathered around the kitchen island and the comfy family room, but our favoite spot was definitely the wraparound porch and the outdoor table and chairs. It was great to be able to sit outside, but still have a sense of privacy that the garden and the yard provided. Bailey’s Harbor itself proved to be much more satisfying to us than the other side–no crowds, no traffic, nice beach, great restaurants, great walking routes–all in all, totally perfect in every way! Thank you so much for the wonderful house, garden and total comfort we all badly needed. We hope to return, and are thinking of some winter dates so we can enjoy the fireplace as well!

    Dawn, — September 7 2009
  • Carraig Beag

    We stayed for 10 days at the cottage and it was the perfect place for a large extended family to enjoy much fun together.  We loved all the small touches that the owners provided:  toys, movies, pack and plays, books, etc.  It was very clean but comfortable enough to not be worried that the kids would ruin or bother the cottage.  The yard is great for running, playing ball and enjoying the weather.  The proximity to the park, marina, ice cream, and restaurants was priceless as we never had to load into cars to enjoy a morning, afternoon or evening out.  I would recommend this home to anyone looking to enjoy time away from the daily grind and pure relaxation in one of the most beautiful places ever!

    Anon, — August 20 2009
  • Carraig Beag

    Great location and such a wonderful time spent in Door County.  The house was very new and clean, perfect for exploring the area!  We hope to return again next summer!  Thanks for the wonderful home!

    Anon, — August 19 2009
  • Carraig Beag

    Our stay at the house was great.  We had plenty of room. Everything was well appointed.  There were no issues.  For a fisherman like myself it could not have been any better to be 2 blocks from the marina.  We are recommending this kind of vacation to all of our friends.

    Max, — August 19 2009
  • We had a lovely time…

    Carraig Mor Cottage was such a welcoming place to
    land after a day of driving!  The house is beautifully
    updated and decorated on the inside, while the
    gardens and grounds are stunning and zen-like on
    the outside.  We had cold, cloudy, and rainy
    weather the week before the July 4th holiday, but
    we were perfectly happy and cozy inside this
    charming home.  Although there is no nice view of
    Lake Michigan, there is a harbor only a few blocks
    away where you can sit right on the lake and enjoy.
    The gardens make up for not being a waterfront
    property.  Carraig Mor is even prettier than the
    internet pictures convey – we had a lovely time.

    Anon,
  • Carraig Mor

    Our second year to spend time in Carraig Mor Cottage could not possibly be as good as the first year, or so I thought.  I was definitely wrong!  Our visit this time found us staying in for meals more and really utilizing the beautiful kitchen.  Again, we felt so at home there and wanted to take every advantage of our “digs”.  This year we invited relatives with children to join all of us and they enjoyed the cottage as much as we did.  Our evenings in front of the fire were so relaxing and a pleasant time for all of us to catch up with each other or to watch a video together.  The children really loved the yard and enjoyed it by running and playing in the leaves and swinging in the tire swing. It really is as beautiful in the fall as in all the pictures we have seen of the grounds during the spring and summer.
    Our family hopes to use the cottage to spend time together again in 2009 because we are shaping our own set of memories in your lovely home.

    Colleen, — January 17 2009
  • Carraig Mor

    Our group of 7 ladies had a wonderful time catching up in your beautiful cottage.  We had previously worked together in St. Louis, Missouri.  Now, many of us are retired, and 2 live in Huntsville, Alabama (where our jobs re-located)  and the rest of us live in St. Louis.  We even had a couple that we worked with visit from Marshfield, WI., and they were very impressed with the house.

    The cottage was very roomy and extremely comfortable for all of us.  We made several fires and enjoyed them immensely.  We are amazed at how beautiful the fall colors look in our pictures.

    Thank you for a good time,

    Patti, — November 10 2008
  • Carraig Mor

    We stayed in this lovely home in August of 08 and couldn’t be more pleased with the location and the amenities.  Incredibly clean and well-appointed as well as spacious.  Owner was great to work with as well.  We typically stay in Fish Creek but found Baily’s Harbor more relaxing and just as charming.  Would highly recommend this property.

    Jill, — October 21 2008
  • Anon – Carraig Mor – October 2008

    We spent a wonderful week at the Carraig Mor with our family of 4.  What a superb vacation spot and made all the better with a fabulous house and gardens to enjoy.  The house is spacious yet cozy and you can walk to anything in town.  We will certainly make a repeat visit.

  • Sharon – Carraig Mor – October 2008

    Martina,
    Your cottage was just perfect for our family.  The
    garden was absolutely gorgeous and we enjoyed
    the fireplace so much. The view from the sitting
    room looking out onto the Bluffs was lovely. It was
    a perfect time of year to visit Door County and
    staying at a beautiful cottage of yours made it more
    special.   Thank You Again, and we hope to use it
    again in 2009.

  • Heather – Carraig Mor – October 2008

    Martina, just wanted to drop you a quick note to let you know what a lovely time we had at your beautiful home in Bailey’s Harbor last week!  Your home and gardens are so inviting, warm and relaxing!  If I did not have my 2 kids with me, I could have sat on your porch, looking at the gardens and reading a book all week!

    I am sooo glad you found this treasure of a home and property and are willing to share it with others!  Thank you again and we hope to be back in the future!!!

  • Laura – Carraig Mor – October 2008

    We stayed here the last weekend in September.  What a special place this home is in Bailey’s Harbor.  The gardens are unbelievably beautiful…You just want to stay on the porch and admire the beauty.  It is a spectacular space with everything being brand new.  The kitchen is wonderful and you will find yourself sitting in there just staring outside at the gardens.  In Bailey’s Harbor, there is a great coffee shop and a wonderful ice cream parlor. Bailey’s harbor is quaint and quiet compared to the other side of Door County, but you are quick drive to sister’s bay, fish creek, etc.  Plus the beauty along the way is worth the drive.  Stop at Door County Bakery and the shops next to it…you will be glad you did!  A truly lovely time and we look forward to going back to Carraig Mor Cottage every time!

  • Irene – Carraig Beag – September 2008

    Than you for enabling us to embrace the beauty of this wonderful county and its fantastic surroundings.The cottage was absolutely delightful and exactly what was required for a wonderful family holiday.Spotlessly clean , beautifully furnished and equipped with everything that we needed.We would  highly recommend this cottage to all our family and friends.
    We will definitely be back next Summer.
    Thank you once again,

  • Shelia – Carraig Mor – August 2008

    We stayed at this wonderful cottage for more than two weeks and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. It is every bit as lovely inside and out as the pictures on the website. The kitchen is absolutely fantastic, well laid out and equipped with all the tools for making and serving tasty meals. The beds were super comfortable and the rooms decorated  beautifully in this very clean and adorable cottage. The gardens are gorgeous and the town is very charming. All in all a great time at the Carraig Mor Cottage. Thank you Martina!

  • Mark – Carraig Mor – August 2008

    My family of six had a great time staying at the cottage.  It was clean and well maintained.  At night we played several of the board games.  We had plenty of space and a new gas BBQ grill on the back patio.  Two short block walk to marina, shops and the harbor.  During the days we rented kayaks in Peninsula State Park, rented a pontoon in Sturgen Bay, fished, golfed and went go-carting.

  • Stephen – Carraig Mor – August 2008

    Great home to unwind in and stay in Door County!  This home has everything, including a beautifully landscaped gardens surrounding the home.  The home was ultra clean and the owners obviously used an interior decorator.  The gourmet kitchen overlooks the backyards’ gardens, and is a pleasure to cook up a meal while enjoying the grounds.  Everything is close by.  Roads E and EE are a minute away to whisk you to the bay side in 10 minutes.  Whitefish Dunes is 15 minutes due south; great beach!  Horseback-riding and parasailing also close by.  Owners Gerry and Martina add their own personal best, and that is immense!  Excellent!

  • Claire – Carraig Mor – August 2008

    The most comfortable and beautiful rental, in a great
    location.  Wrap around porch & furnishings indoors
    and outdoors make it a fabulous place to unwind and
    enjoy beautiful Door County.  Stayed with 4 women
    and we all hope to return again; we called it Eden.

  • Anon – Carraig Mor – August 2008

    We stayed at the cottage this summer for my husband’s birthday. It is very comfortable, clean and beautiful. We found the garden very relaxing and inspiring. It is in a great location whether you want to stroll down the street for the great restaurants, shops, ice cream, beach, marina etc. and just minutes away from the other towns. We wish we could stay longer and come back very soon.

  • Mary – Carraig Mor – July 2008

    Martina,
    The house far exceeded our expectations.    Your home is a slice of heaven!   Bailey’s Harbor is a charming town and your home was such a wonderful and family friendly base for us during our Door County vacation.   Thank you for going out of your way to make the home child friendly.  We used your pack’n’play, high chair and toys.    You made it so easy for us to have a great time.   Our kids loved playing in the yard and we have some gorgeous photos of them in the gardens.    We will not soon forget our trip.   We definitely want to book again next year!

  • Brent – Carraig Beag – June 2008

    Martina,
    We had an extraordinary time at the Carraig Beag cottage. the house was beautiful and well stocked with everything we might have needed.  Thank you so much for making our trip to Door County an unforgetable one.  Our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer.  Thanks again.

  • Mona – Carraig Mor – June 2008

    Hi, Martina.  It is hard to believe that almost a week has gone by since we left the relaxation of Carraig Mor.  The house was perfect (I loved your appliances and the gas grill because I like to cook and we whipped up a good meal!)  I like to cook surrounded by music, so I really appreciated your sound system, also. The five of us had lots of room to join the communal chatter or escape by our self if we chose.The gardens are drop dead gorgeous, a term usually applied to lovely women, but it works well here too since we are envious of both (maybe?)  We know that we were amazed by the gardens and how wonderful they looked even this late in the season.  Pictures don’t quite do them justice. We are all curious about the figurines that preside over both the house and garden.  Who is the sculptor?

    I guess to sum it up, thanks for providing such a lovely, comfortable home on the quiet side of Door County.  We thoroughly enjoyed our way-too-short stay at Carraig Mor.  Also, keep recommending the Sandpiper for breakfast.  We ate there on Sunday morning and I had the best cherry waffle!  I hope that we have a chance do do a weekend like this again. Thank you, thank you

  • Anon – Carraig Beag – January 2007

    We stayed at Carraig Beag over the New Year holiday and had a wonderful time. The cottage was immaculate and everything is so new! The kitchen is open and roomy, and there is a nice laundry room next to it. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, but just a short walk to area restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Sally – Carraig Beag – November 2007

    Very  relaxing and peaceful place. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to our friends and family .We really appreciated how clean it was.

    Thanks and Happy new year,

  • Tom & Tracy – Carraig Beag – November 2007

    A quick getaway! Perfect time to relax before the holidays.  Took a quick jog down the road, peaceful at this time of year. We had a really enjoyable time.
    Thanks for  the use of your home, very clean and new.

  • Paul and Sue – Carraig Beag – October 2007

    The cottage is very clean and close to everything we wanted to do this weekend. Thank you for accommodating our family.

  • Irene and Graemme – Carraig Beag – August 2007

    Than you for enabling us to embrace the beauty of this wonderful county and its fantastic surroundings.The cottage was absolutely delightful and exactly what was required for a wonderful family holiday.Spotlessly clean , beautifully furnished and equipped with everything that we needed.We would  highly recommend this cottage to all our family and friends.
    We will definitely be back next Summer.
    Thank you once again,

  • Jessica – Carraig Mor – November 2007

    We ADORED our visit at the cottage. We had a wonderful time and the house and property were PERFECT for us. The house was lovely and had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. We had more than enough room (there being just the two of us) and we look forward to bringing our family there this summer. The property was fantastic, even though it was fall. I can only imagine what it must look like in person in the spring and summer time. We thought the location was perfect, great places to visit within walking distance and also very accessible to the other near by cities. I will post this review on the web site! Thank you again for being so accommodating with our short notice reservation.

  • Tracy – Carraig Mor – November 2007

    What a great place, perfect.  It was close to everything and the detailed maps at the home were just what we needed to navigate around the penninsula.  We enjoyed the accomadations, it was clean and in a great location.  It took my 1 minute to walk to the lake and wander around.  It was cold and rainy but it was the end of November but, we stayed in and watched some family movies and played some fun games with the kids.  We really needed this getaway and this was the perfect place.
    Thanks!

 

Share This